So, it's my roommates birthday and we're at the bar partaking in the kind of debachery that bars are known for and my roommate started talking to this girl, who I'll call "Kate". Kate it seems was afraid to go home because her boyfriend was going to beat her up (over some argumnt or perceived girl/girl action in the womens restroom or something). Kate's b/f left the bar early because of the argument, so she needed a ride as well. She invited my roommate, roommate's co-workers, myself and another girl named Mynette back to her place for some beers in effort to keep her b/f from beating her up. Even though Kate lived a ways outside of the city I though it would be a good idea to help her out. I mean, who wants to see women abused?
Kate, Mynette, and I took my car and my roommate and her co-worker took his truck. Even durring the drive to Kate's place her b/f called at least 3 times to threaten her. Kate told him that she had invited us for drinks which of course didn't make him very happy. When we pulled up to the appartment Kate told me to park in the grass so I pulled into the grass on the far side the lot. She let me know that I didn't need to pull so far into the grass and I should really have parked down a little bit farther, so I moved the car down opposite of her appartment. This is where things become slightly foggy for me.
It was probably around 2am at this point. I got out of the car and was punched three times in the back of my head! (ok, if you're sneaking up on some one, DON'T punch them in the head! Go for the kidney. This punk wasnt any taller than I... anyway) Needless to say (but I'm going to say it anyway) it took me by surprise. I turned around and grabbed the guy's leg and took him to the ground. At this point my roommate and her co-worker (who are sheriff's deputies at a juvenile detention center) secure the guy and right at this point the local police show up. I guess my roommate had the insight to call them as we were leaving the city. Too bad. Out of sheer courtesy I should have had the chance to fight back and at least hit him a few times. Well, my glasses were completely bent in half at the nose bridge. I paid $400 for the pair because they are titanium and were supposed to flex! Guess not. Turns out the guy (have not a clue what his name is) had a knife in his pocket, so I guess I'm kinda lucky there. He had also trashed the apartment. He smashed every one of Kate's photos in the frames, busted her television, broke 2 tables, etc. Also, there were shards of glass all over and food flung all over the kitchen. Spent the next hour filling out police reports. Woo! Then we tried to clean up the mess inside and try to get Kate to leave and go some where safe. This guy was only being held overnight and you know that when he gets out Kate isn't going to be safe. I then took Mynette home and left my roommate and co-worker to try and convince Kate to leave. Woke up this morning with a splitting headache (and no, it's not from drinking. I was the DD) and a little woosy so I opt-ed to not go to work. Isn't there supposed to be some sort of reward for doing good deeds? ...especially when you get attacked?? Well, I learned my lesson. When dropping a girl off at an abusive boyfriends place always look behind you before getting out of the car!